Categorized | Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (7-Inch, White) Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (7-Inch, White)

  • Android 4.4 Kit Kat OS, 1.2 GHz quad-core processor
  • 8 GB Flash Memory, 1.5 GB RAM Memory
  • WXGA Display (1280×800 Resolution)
  • 32GB of memory available through a microSD slot and 50GB of free Dropbox storage
  • Comes with over 0 of free content and services

At a Glance:High-resolution, 7.0-inch display for vivid detailRead e-books, watch movies, play games, browse the web, and moreIR blaster allows you to use tablet as universal remoteSearch TV listings and receive recommendationsShare your tablet with multi-user modeSwitch to Kids Mode for a colorful, easy-to-use interfaceRear and front cameras for photos and video chatAdd up to 32 GB memory with microSD slotEasily multitask with two apps using Multi WindowLightweight, portable designCrisp, Clear

List Price: $ 199.99

Price: $ 199.99

OtterBox Defender Series Case with Screen Protector and Stand for the iPad (4th Generation), iPad 2 and 3 – Grey/White

  • Robust silicone – durable and absorbs impact force
  • Built-In screen protector – simplifies installation, protects from scratches and is easy to clean
  • Engineered design is inspired by the new iPad – ergonomics accommodate natural use
  • Aesthetics – textures and styling in combination with high quality materials create an attractive protective solution
  • Port protection with complete access to all functions through case – blocks dust and debris from ports which lengthens the life of the device
  • 3 layers of protection
  • Access to all ports and functions
  • Clear protective membrane on touch screen

Developed with your active lifestyle in mind, the iPad Defender Series case from OtterBox employs multi-layer technology combined with high-quality materials to create the most solid protective solution. The Defender Series for the new iPad is also compatible with the iPad 2. Design begins with the device. Thorough evaluation of the iPad and its functions are taken into account as we develop and refine. From initial concept designs to final product drawings, every aspect of the iPad is given car

List Price: $ 89.95

Price: $ 89.99

6 Responses to “Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (7-Inch, White) Reviews”

  1. jjceo says:
    317 of 365 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Amazing quality and performance at a very good price point!, May 3, 2014
    By 
    jjceo (Greenwood, Indiana) –
    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)
      
    (#1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)
      

    This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (7-Inch, White) (Personal Computers)

    Customer Video Review Length:: 9:48 Mins

    Update September 8, 2014:

    About 6 weeks ago I started having issues charging the Samsung tablet. A red x appeared over the battery symbol and the tablet appeared to be charging but very slowly. This red x means that the tablet is plugged into a computer and exchanging data but in reality it was plugged into the Samsung AC wall charger using their cable.

    I tried another Micro USB charging cable and it worked fine but not every time. I was worried that the charging port on the tablet was going bad. I take excellent care of my smart devices and I wanted to find out what the issue was. I contacted Samsung support using the on line message support system. It took about an hour to convince Samsung that the cable was bad and perhaps the AC wall charger.

    They shipped me a new AC wall charger and the cable. I tried only the cable by itself first and it has worked perfectly every time I haved plugged it in for three weeks. I wanted to post this update in case any other user of this tablet is having a similar problem. Good luck with Samsung support as the person I dealt with was stubborn about recognizing that one of their products was defective.

    ———————

    I own a lot of different tablets but this is my first Samsung and let me say that I am impressed. I went to the store to buy a 7 inch unit but quickly decided to upgrade to the 8 inch version. There were several features that I was concerned about and the 8 inch unit just fit my needs better.

    * Larger screen size for reading
    * More basic internal memory at 16 GIG versus 8 GIG for the 7 inch unit
    * The ability to upgrade to a 64 GIG SD card instead of just 32 GIG

    Just remember that in my experience your need for more memory grows as you use your tablet more and if you buy a smaller memory upgrade capability you may regret it. The price difference on launch day was only $40 more. I already own 8 tablets in my family so my experience has proven this need for more memory. As you add more books and more apps the memory slowly gets eaten up. I went ahead and also purchased a Samsung 64 GIG Micro SD memory card and I got a Class 10 Pro series at a cost of $55. It reads at 70 MB/s and a write speed of 20 MB/s. For under $300 you will have a powerful tablet that has more memory (80 GIG) than a 64 GIG iPad Mini for a much lower price.

    Here is the link to the Samsung Memory that I purchased:

    Samsung 64GB MicroSD XC Pro Class 10 UHS-1 Read Speed 70mb/s Write Speed 20mb/s MB-MGCGB Ultra Fast Speed Memory Card with SoCal Trade, Inc. Memory Card Reader

    Some other key features are:

    * A powerful Qualcomm quad core CPU operating at 1.2 GHZ ( You can see the speed in using the tablet)
    * 1280 by 800 pixel display
    * A 3 MP rear facing camera
    * A 1.3 MP front facing camera
    * It weighs in at 11 ¼ ounces per my scales
    * Bluetooth 4.0
    * Internal 16 GIG of flash memory and it goes to 80 GIG using a 64 GIG Micro SD card (Use a high quality Class 10 Micro SD card)
    * 1.5 GIG of internal RAM
    * A 4450 mAh internal battery pack
    * Android 4.4 operating system Kit Kat
    * 1080P playback and recording
    * A built in IR blaster to control your TV and other infra-red devices and an App called WatchON the help you control your TV and see what is playing on your cable service.
    * The tablet comes with a 31 inch charging and data cable that is a Micro USB on one end and a USB on the other.
    * It comes with an AC wall charger that outputs 5 VDC at 1 Amp and it will operate on 100 to 240 VAC and 50/60 HZ.
    * It features a power multitasking function that lets you see and use two apps simultaneously which is something that an Apple iPad cannot do. Very nice feature!
    * You can set up multiple users and limit the apps that they can see and use.
    * You can set up a child friendly and protected user interface.
    * You get $300 worth of free content

    I found this tablet to be extremely versatile and very fast. The quad core processor is very impressive and browsing the internet was fast and easy. Adding my Gmail account to the tablet literally took a minute. I put together a video to show you the locations for the controls and what the tablet looks like. It is a bit long and I couldn’t even talk about all of the items that I wanted to include. I apologize for the length of the video but I get excited over good technology. Overall the tablet is impressive and it is well worth the money based on the quality and performance that I have seen. I rate it as a 5 star item.

    You can register your device with Samsung Galaxy Perks and get more free items:

    * A $10 credit on the Google Play Store
    * 3 months free of Hulu plus
    * 1 year free of Boingo WIFI
    * 50 GIG of free Drop Box cloud storage for 2 years
    * Sirius 3 months free…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Melissa M. Futrell says:
    22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Perfection, July 4, 2014
    By 
    Melissa M. Futrell (U.S.) –

    This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (7-Inch, White) (Personal Computers)
    I bought this tablet at my local Target store on the 30th of June and let me say, this is the best tablet I ever had. It’s super light and easy to use. The front and back camera are great to take selfies and pictures and it’s great for taking videos. The Skype is great as well. I am a teenager myself and I am using it for school and personal stuff. I use the Google Chrome for web browsing and it’s really fast. Downloading apps is fast as well as opening and running them. I have downloaded the CM Security from the Google Play Store for free and I run it once a day and it always says it’s safe. I also downloaded the CleanMaster app and clean it after I’m done using it and it helps deletes the junk files and makes the device run even faster.

    A couple of my relatives have both the iPad and the iPad Mini, but when I tried both of them myself, nothing compares to the Samsung Galaxy Tab 4. The iPad Mini is a little bigger than this and a little lighter, but from what I experienced, the Samsung is better and it saved me $200-400.

    The reading is great and I mostly download my books straight from Google Play Books and the Amazon Kindle Store. The Wattpad app (YouTube for E-books) is an awesome app for downloading free books written by teens and tranditional/self-published authors. The keyboard is great when it comes to commenting on the works and also typing my own stories.

    The battery lasts much longer, too. I had mine at 100% charged and it lasted for about twelve hours of playing time (with the brightness turned to low). I have the Netflix app and I can watch the videos perfectly. It’s crystal clear.

    Listening to music is much more clear and easier when you put some ear buds on. The speaker is on the back of the device.

    Overall, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 is a perfection! You should buy it!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. rpv says:
    156 of 191 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    The BEST of Galaxy Tab 4 series – BEST Pixel density of all, May 1, 2014
    By 
    rpv (California) –
    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

    Samsung has done it again. They are releasing tablets at very periodic intervals. Samsung’s fourth generation of Galaxy Tab series is as expected and for this price point phenomenal. I have been using Galaxy Tab 2 and 3 and I am very much impressed with Galaxy line of devices. I got to play with all of the three Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 series for few days. I like them that I am getting all three and selling last year’s model. First, if you have not had any tablets before, Get THIS! Yes, Get this 7″. It is ideal for plane trips, long journeys. I had used a 7″ Tablet on a long journey to listen to songs and read epub books (Aldiko) and it was a very pleasant experience. 7″ form factor is lightweight, compact and great. If you are a bit experienced and can afford it, I highly recommend the 8″. In my opinion 8″ is the maximum value for the money and features, but 7” has the best pixel density of all three Galaxy 4 series. If you are just starting out 7” is great and prices will FALL further as year progresses.

    Samsung has introduced 7″, 8″ and 10.1″ of the Tab 4 series. This year the space has become crowded as Samsung also has 8.4”, 10.1” and 12.2” Tab Pro Series. They are pricier, but if you can afford I very STRONGLY suggest you get the PRO series just for one thing – RESOLUTION. I was really hoping the Tab series will go to a higher resolution. But again price/performance is a factor that drives Samsung to make devices at all price/performance ranges.

    Let’s start off with salient points of all of the Galaxy Tab 4 series. I will later compare with the previous Tab 3 models. I have also listed brief specs of current leading tablets at the very end if you would like to really compare and shop. There are too many choices out there now in 2014. If you have Tab 3, don’t upgrade. No need to. Those devices worked well a year back and still are. The photos look just as beautiful on them as they did a year ago!

    Some of Tab 4 specs have certainly become better, but not in a revolutionary sense. The pixels per inch ppi is the best in 7” among all of Galaxy Tab 4 series. That is because all have same resolution and size is the variable. For a first time user, you will be blown away by the feature set now. The tablets have multi user profiles, so each user can customize like a home PC.

    Look at three specs that really interest you and nail down the tablet you need. Look at the big picture, what you want from a tablet now, a year from now, what your family needs out of this and make a decision.

    7-inch Galaxy Tab 4 tablet: 1280×800, 216 ppi, 1.2 GHz Quad-Core, 1.5GB RAM, 8GB built-in storage (ROM), a microSD card slot (up to 32 GB), Camera: 3MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 9.74 oz. (276 grams). Android 4.4.2

    8-inch Galaxy Tab 4 tablet: 1280×800, 189 ppi, Qualcomm Snapdragon 400 1.2 GHz Quad-Core, 1.5GB RAM, 16GB built-in storage (ROM), a microSD card slot (up to 64 GB), Camera: 3MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 11.1 oz. (315 grams). Android 4.4.2

    10.1-inch Galaxy Tab 4 model: 1280×800, Qualcomm Snapdragon, 149 ppi, 1.2 GHz Quad-Core, 1.5GB RAM, 16GB built-in storage (ROM), a microSD card slot (up to 64 GB), Camera: 3MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 17.3 oz. (490 grams). Android 4.4.2

    Look at the salient points of all of the Galaxy Tab 3 series.

    7-inch Galaxy Tab 3 tablet: 1024 x 600, Marvell dual-core 1.2GHz processor, 1GB RAM, 8GB built-in storage (ROM), a microSD card slot (up to 64 GB), Camera: 3MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 10.58 oz. (300 grams). Android 4.1.2

    8-inch Galaxy Tab 3 model: 1280 x 800, Exynos 1.5GHz dual-core processor, 1.5GB ram, 16GB of built-in storage (ROM), a microSD slot (up to 64 GB), Camera: 5MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 10.9 oz. (309 grams) Android 4.2

    10.1-inch Galaxy Tab 3 model: 1280 x 800, Intel Atom 1.6GHz Z2560 dual-core processor, 1GB RAM, a 16GB built-in storage (ROM), a microSD slot (up to 64 GB), Camera: 3.2MP rear-facing, 1.3MP front-facing and weighs 17.99 oz. (510 grams). Android 4.2

    I am not going into other details like accelerometer etc. as they are all standard these days, Audio support – AAC, AMR, MP3, OGG, WMA/ASF, 3GA/M4A, FLAC, WAV; MP3/MP4/Music Tones; Music Player; Ringtones, Polyphonic. Video support: AVI/DIVX, WMV/ASF, FLV, MKV, MP4/3GP, WEBM; Video Player; Video Streaming.

    The 7″ has a physical home button so are others in the series. Also has capacitive Back and Menu buttons. Camera is a 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera for skype, and a 3-megapixel rear-facing camera. It is also equipped with an IR blaster so it will work as a universal remote on both your TV and cable box. Camera is only so and so, and I will not rely on it to produce outstanding photos. Weighs very…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. Daniel says:
    599 of 641 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    I actually like it better than the one for the first iPad, March 19, 2012
    By 
    Daniel

    I just got a new iPad (3rd Gen) to replace my original iPad and I wanted a very protective case for it. I had an OtterBox Defender case on my original iPad and loved it. My original iPad still looked brand new thanks to the OtterBox (and a screen protector) and I wanted the same protection for my new one. I read the reviews of the OtterBox Defender case for the iPad 2 and wasn’t too optimistic. It seemed to be hit or miss whether you got a good one or one that would fall apart on you. I’m happy to say that either they improved the quality in the new one or I just got lucky.

    When I first opened it, I was a bit confused as to how to get it apart so I could put it on my iPad. There are picture directions on the box (no written instructions), but they are vague so I had to work a bit get it taken apart. The silicone part is more firm (not as pliable or flexible) than the one for the original iPad and I think I prefer it. The hard case snaps together at a few points where the original one just slid together. It feels more steady and protective. I also like the built-in screen protector rather than relying on having a stick-on screen protector (those are a pain to put on and I always end up with a small speck of something stuck under the protector).

    Once I got it all put together, I really like the feel of it; it’s pretty solid. The cover for this case snaps on more securely than the original one did so I like that as well. The cover would pop off my original iPad way too easily.

    Another thing I like on the new one is the cover for the dock connector. On the original one, there was a piece that would actually slide off (as in a completely separate piece that you then had to keep track of) that revealed enough of the back and bottom of the iPad so you could put it in a dock if you wanted to. I don’t use an iPad dock, so wasn’t of any use to me and just irritated me that I had to keep track of this extra piece. After using the case for a while, that piece didn’t stay put nearly as securely as when it was new, so I had to be careful how I held my iPad while caring it so I didn’t accidentally grab just that piece and have it slide out and drop my iPad on the ground.

    The only complaint, and that’s pushing it a bit, is that the silicone covering the home button is a bit stiff so pressing the home button, or double-clicking it, is a little bit tougher. By no means is it a deal breaker and I really think it will loosen up with a little bit of use (obviously I haven’t used it much since I just got it a couple days ago).

    Overall, I’m very happy with my purchase (though I bought it from Best Buy, not Amazon) and would recommend this case t anybody that wants full protection (not water-proof) for their new iPad.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. jjceo says:
    142 of 156 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Better than the case for the iPad 2 because of some improvements!, April 9, 2012
    By 
    jjceo (Greenwood, Indiana) –
    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)
      
    (#1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)
      

    I ordered one of these cases when I first ordered my New iPad but I had to wait for over 3 weeks to receive it. I have to tell you I was nervous holding the iPad without a case. I have large, dry and calloused hands and to hold an iPad without a silicone case for me is like trying to hold a slippery sliver of ice. I was so afraid I was going to drop it and the iPad is designed like a piece of art and I didn’t want to scratch or damage it.

    This new case has several improvements and they are noticeable because we own an iPad 2 and the older style Otterbox Defender case. The improvements in my opinion are:
    * The lid of the new case has four robust hard plastic corners that firmly lock around and onto the corners of the Defender case itself. This provides better protection from dropping the iPad on a fragile corner and the lid is snapped onto the case more securely than the last model.
    * The lid contains two magnets so that when you snap it onto the case for carrying it puts the iPad into sleep mode and when you remove the lid the iPad is instantly turned on. The old case did not have this feature.
    * The new case has a built in screen protector and the original had a separate screen protector. The new screen protector has a pixilation effect when compared to using the New iPad retina display without a screen cover. Without the cover the picture is absolutely perfect and with the cover you can see the micro granulation of the plastic material. It is ever so slight but it is there and this aspect of the screen protector needs improvement. I like the fact that the screen protector is built in but I hate losing display quality because the wrong material was selected for the protector. Let’s face it, the retina display is the main reason why many of us purchased the new iPad.
    * On the new case the flaps that cover the docking area, the headphone jack and the switch for the Silent/Screen rotation lock, snap into place tightly and do not randomly come open. The silicon seems thicker and tighter on the case and the areas where these flaps fit are much better designed and close tighter.
    * The edge of the silicon on the top bezel of the case that goes around the iPad display has a nice wide extrusion that fits into a larger channel seal area in the hard plastic case than the last model defender case. The seal and fit is much tighter than the last model case and it simply feels more secure. The silicon was actually a little harder to get off to install the iPad as it is so tight fitting.
    * The silicon overall feels thicker and fits tighter than the last Defender model and it just feels better made.
    * The large flip up flap that was on the back of the case for the iPad 2 docking area is no longer there and I like that they removed it. It was useless and was hard to seal and keep in place some times.

    Things that are the same and are still good:
    * The removable lid still has the flip up mechanism inside that allows you to install the iPad into it in a typing slant or in a higher tilt for video viewing. I do like the larger snap on corners again as the tilt holding area is larger and seems safer in the video viewing position. For video viewing you can stand the iPad up into the portrait or landscape modes.
    * The lid still snaps onto the bottom of the case for storage while using the iPad.
    * The case has two hard plastic polycarbonate shells that firmly snap together to enclose the iPad. The bottom case shell is lined with memory foam to cradle the iPad and provide additional shock absorption.

    Over all the weight of the New iPad in the case does increase. My iPad 64 GIG is specified to weigh in at 652 grams and when installed in the case with cover the weight goes to 1172 grams or 2 pounds and 9 ¼ ounces. I know it is heavier by almost 80% but I can tell you it feels 10 times more protected than a bare iPad. The silicon cover has an alligator style tread pattern on the long sides of the iPad case and I can securely hold it in one hand where without the case I was afraid to drop the slick surfaced iPad.

    Two negative comments about the display cover built in as part of the case top shell.
    * I cleaned my iPad with a very slightly damp microfiber cloth and made sure that the case screen was clean. I still got a few minor pieces of dust under the screen once I closed it. I don’t like that but I have to tell you that is was cleaner than when I installed the stick on screen cover on the last model of the Defender case. You just can’t get rid of all the dust no matter what you do. This is not Otterbox’s fault but just a statement about screen protectors in general and their installation.
    * The screen protector that is built into the top of the polycarbonate case needs to be improved. I may leave mine on for a while but I am likely to take the screen protector out of the case as I do not like the degradation…

    Read more

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. N. Pierce says:
    290 of 324 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Great Case For The New Ipad, March 26, 2012
    By 
    N. Pierce
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    Received this case and installed it pretty easy watching the video from Otterbox’s website. First thing I cleaned the Ipad screen and the screen protector and looked at them both in the light making sure there was no prints or lint on either. I just used windex and a paper towel. Then assembled it. The screen looks beautiful. Games, video’s and everything else looks wonderful. I can’t tell I’m even looking thru a screen protector. I can’t understand why so many other reviewers are unimpressed with the screen protector. Overall protection seems pretty good. My nine year old son can grab this anytime he wants now without me worrying. I would recommend this case highly to anyone looking to purchase protection for their new Ipad. Also try keeping this in your cart with Amazon as the seller and watch for a price drop. Amazon last week for a short time dropped the price to $30.99 which is when I purchased it. If they did it before maybe they will do it again.

    Items Ordered Price
    1 of: OtterBox Defender Series for The New iPad 3 3rd Generation & iPad 2 – Black [Personal Computers]
    Condition: New
    Sold by: Amazon.com LLC
    $30.99
    Amazon Prime: Two-Day Shipping is free

    Item(s) Subtotal: $30.99
    Shipping & Handling: $0.00
    —–
    Total Before Tax: $30.99
    Sales Tax: $0.00
    —–
    Total for This Shipment: $30.99
    —–

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Leave a Reply